MPO Plans

As the metropolitan planning organization for the Sioux Falls region, the Sioux Falls MPO is responsible for developing and maintaining key documents for the transportation planning process. 

The Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) contains a prioritized program of transportation improvements in the multi-modal areas of streets and highways, public transportation, aviation, railroads, bicycles, and pedestrians.  The Sioux Falls TIP is developed jointly by the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT), local participating units of government, agencies, and committees of the Sioux Falls MPO.

The Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) describes the annual objectives, work activities/products, and planning studies to be accomplished by the participants of the Sioux Falls MPO.  The governmental entities involved with the Sioux Falls MPO include: the South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG); the Cities of Brandon, Crooks, Harrisburg, Hartford, Sioux Falls, and Tea; Lincoln and Minnehaha Counties; the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT); the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).  These entities are responsible for the transportation planning that occurs within the Sioux Falls metropolitan planning area.