2017 UPWP Available for Comment

May 16, 2016

Within the Sioux Falls, South Dakota Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA), there exists a federally required and formalized process by which area transportation planning is conducted and transportation policy decisions are made. 

The governmental entities involved in the metropolitan transportation planning process, known as the Sioux Falls Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), include: the South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG); the Cities of Brandon, Crooks, Harrisburg, Hartford, Sioux Falls, and Tea; Lincoln and Minnehaha Counties; the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT); the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). These entities are responsible for the transportation planning that occurs within the MPA.

The 2017 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) is the document that describes the annual objectives, work activities/products, and planning research studies to be accomplished by the participants of the Sioux Falls metropolitan transportation planning process.

Following the public hearing held on Thursday, May 12th, at the MPO's Technical Advisory Committee meeting, the UPWP is available for public comment through May 26, 2016.  Please submit written comments to Amber Gibson at amber@secog.org or Sioux Falls MPO, Attn: Amber Gibson, 500 N. Western Avenue, Suite 100, Sioux Falls, SD 57104.